Online reviews of Keldun House accommodation in Tarbert, Co. Kerry

“beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Thank you for the very nice stay - here in Keldun House! :-) It´s a lovely place! :-) Thank you for - sorry - my English is not so good - das puschelige, gemütliche Zimmer. Für eure Herzlichkeit! :-) Thank you for the very good breakfast! Greetings from Germany :-) Manuela and Claus

 
“A moment of calm on the Wild Atlantic Way”
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. What sets this B&B apart is the welcome and hospitality of Bernadette who takes an interest in and really looks after her guests. We awoke to blue skies and a light breeze but we were warned of a change in the weather. We set off for the ferry and it wasn't long before we were once again experiencing the very Wild Atlantic Way.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 

We received a heart-warming welcome from Pat and Bernadette, the room was very cosy and clean with a large bed ! The irish breakfast was one of the best we have tasted during our trip and the house is 2mn away from the ferry by car ! Don't hesitate ! It's our best experience with b&b ! Margaux & François

 
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 

This has been our second visit to this B&B. 
We received a great Welcome from our hostess Bernadette on arrival and nothing seemed too much trouble.
The rooms are large, beds comfortable and everywhere spotlessly clean.
We enjoyed our Irish breakfast this morning and the craic which we had with some Americans researching their ancestry.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend this B &B

Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
“A lovely B&B!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My husband & I stayed here for one night with a friend. As previously mentioned Bernadette is a lovely host. Keldun house is on the main street and normally we would avoid that but we'd no problems; plus we chose to park out front on the main street instead of around the back. Our room was to the back overlooking the garden, it was spacious as it was a family room and very clean. Breakfast was very good (pre-ordered the night before, there's no menu). We enjoyed our full Irish with home made soda bread. There was a selection of cereals and juices plus the option of porridge which I enjoyed!! Bernadette kept coming out with the coffee jug to re-fill our coffee cups (a must for my Husband & I as we're big coffee drinkers so we were kept happy). 
We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely return if we're back in the locality again!

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
“Absolutely AWESOME B &B”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 

We have travelled Ireland all week and can honestly say that this tops any Hotel we have been in during this stay. The owner is a fantastic host and the rooms are fabulous. I would recommend this to anyone. Breakfast was also cooked to order and was fantastic. We requested two rooms for our stay and it's like staying at a friends house it is that homely. You will not regret staying here.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
 
“Five star welcome”
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We stayed for one night but wished it had been more!

We had emailed and Bernadette was quick to respond to any queries.We were warmly greeted and shown to our lovely ensuite room overlooking the garden.
It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Bernadette was very helpful advising us where we could get an evening meal etc.
Our breakfast the next morning was beautiful and the best we had in Ireland!
We'd have no hesitation in recommending Keldun House to anyone and indeed look forward to returning in the future.
Bernadette and her husband were kindness itself and you couldn't find better than Keldun House.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The first thing you notice about Keldun house is the hostess – Bernadette. She is absolutely charming. and very helpful. We arrived late afternoon on a Saturday with my partner anxious to get to the evening mass and Bernadette more or less took us to the church.
We had room 2 which was large with plenty of space. The bed was vast, clean, and very comfortable, and the bathroom was fine with a good shower and plenty of very hot water. Room 2 is at the front of the house so there was some street noise, particularly as the window was open (but Tarbert is a very small place, and the road really only goes to the ferry – it’s not a main thoroughfare).

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, and I thoroughly enjoyed the full Irish.

I can definitely recommend Bernadette and Keldun house and would certainly stay here again were I ever in Tarbert.

 
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 

We visited Keldun house in July and stayed for two nights. Our hostess Bernadette was excellent and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were great well fitted out ensuite excellent bed very comfortable. The breakfast provided was delicious This is our 5th trip to stay at Keldun house over the years and I recommend it to anyone who is going to Tarbert and needs somewhere to stay

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple

Bernadette provided a very warm welcome to myself and my daughters (aged 9 and 12) and we spent a fantastic weekend in Tarbert. We immediately felt at home in Keldun House. We had a super clean, comfortable room and an excellent breakfast too. Bernadette was on hand to deal with any questions and to provide tips and recommendations for things to do in the local area.

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
 
“Lovely B&B with a Charming Host”
Reviewed 24 June 2016

We stayed at Keldun House for one night during our 10 day vacation, before taking the ferry to County Clare the next morning. One of the things we enjoyed most from our time in Ireland was the charm of the people, and Bernadette was perhaps the most warm and gracious person of everyone we met. Keldun House itself is lovely. We had a very clean and spacious room on the back side of the house. The breakfast room looking out onto the patio is beautiful and Bernadette prepared a very abundant and delicious breakfast. She also shared some very helpful information on sights to take in, as we headed out on our journey through County Clare. We left wishing we could spend more than one night here. Whether you need a one night stay in the area or are looking for a home base from which to visit sights in Counties Kerry and Clare, we would highly recommend Keldun House.

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
“Extremely Friendly Owners”
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I recently stayed here as part of a work trip. The accommodation was booked for me by work, but when I arrived it was like I had known the owner, Bernadette, for years! She was so friendly and welcoming and chatty. It was so comforting to have someone be so kind when you're far from home, and don't know the area. I cannot fault one thing about my stay here. The owners were so pleasent, the room was spotless and very comfortable, and the breakfast was lovely. 
The kindness and politeness of the owners made this a trip to remember and I would reccomend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled on business
 
“Traditional B&B”
Reviewed 1 June 2016

This was a lovely B&B. We stayed one night so we could catch the ferry in the morning. Brigitte is a wonderful host. She was friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious. Remember that you need cash to pay but if you don't have it, there is a cash machine right next door.

 
“Just like being at home”
Reviewed 19 May 2016

If you are travelling in Western Ireland and looking to visit the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula, etc. you should definitely plan on spending at least one night at Keldun House in Tarbert. Located on the Shannon River, it has small town ambience and warm atmosphere. Owners Patrick and Bernadette make you feel so much at home that you feel like one of the family. Bernadette's authentic Irish breakfast are delicious and you will not want to miss that. We made it a center point of our trip and did day trips with private driver located there which was an extra plus for seeing parts of Ireland we would have never seen on our own or on a tour bus. A definite do-over for us as we went back a second time just to stay with these lovely people.

 
“Warm, welcoming and very clean B&B”
Reviewed 20th April 2016 

We spent the night at the Keldun House, after arriving late in the evening. Bernadette took us in and made sure we had everything we needed, giving us some tips about places to go and grab a bite, and arranging breakfast at our desired time. The breakfast was delicious. Keldun House simply felt like home away from home, and we..

“Great stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Lovely B&B very welcoming. We stayed at the Keldun for a whole weekend and the stay was great. It was lovely to meet Bernadette, she is a lovely person and a great hostess. Would definitely stay again .

 
“Excellent B&B, highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 November 2015

My partner and I had a lovely stay at Keldun House. The owners are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are clean, cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious. It's great value for money. A strong and wholehearted recomendation.

“Wonderful home and host!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful night in Tarbert after taking the ferry. Bernadette is a wonderful hostess and made us feel very welcome! The room was lovely and the breakfast room has a beautiful view of her patio and garden. The breakfast was delicious! My husband still says it was the best coffee he had in Ireland! Even...More  

“Great stay, great hosts”
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night in August and I must say it was the nicest of all the B&B's we stayed in during our trip. Bernadette and her husband Pat were extremely friendly and helpful; advising us on where best to get a bite to eat (and a pint), and as I was doing some family...Mor

“To all, I with my wife will be happy to recommend this apartment, because it's clean, luxurious, anywhere near the owner”
Reviewed 1 August 2015

To all, I with my wife will be happy to recommend this apartment, because it's clean, luxurious, anywhere near the owner very friendly and obliging. A good place to relax after a long tourism on the Ring of Dingle, Cliffs of Moher, Loop Head. We will be happy to return.

 

CHECK AVAILABILITY











Your Message



Latest News

Tarbert News

Read about all the latest news and events in Tarbert where you can keep up to date with all the festivals and local news.

Tarbert Car Ferry

The Tarbert to Killimer car ferry runs 364 days a year the exception being Christmas day. It sails 46 times a day during the su...

Tarbert Cuckoo Walking Festival 2017

The 2017 Cuckoo walking festival will take place from Friday the 21st of April to Sunday the 23rd of April. The event will be l...

Listowel Races 2017

The next race meeting in Listowel will be held on Sunday June 4th and Monday June 5th. The famous Listowel harvest festival mee...

Tarbert Woodland Walk

Only a few metres from the door of Keldun House begins Tarbert  Woodland Walk. This 3.8 mile walk through the mature woodl...

Tarbert Bridewell Visitor Centre

 Tarbert Bridewell is open 7 days from March to September from 10am to 6pm.The Bridewell also offers a coffee shop, gift s...